Limping

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sasha, Mar 1, 2011.

1. Sasha

Sasha New Member

Hi everyone, I'm new to Bernertalk and have a new Berner. Her name is Sasha and she's now 8 months old. I got her as a pup at 9 weeks old and she's had a limp on her front right leg since I got her. My vet checked her out and say's it's probably growing pains. Now she's showing signs of having trouble standing up with the rear also. Both are a lot worse after activity like walks or playing in the yard. My breeder say's they've had over 300 pups with only 4 having any elbow or displasia problems so the breeder doesn't think it's anything. Does this breed go through a lot of growing pains? Does food have anything to do with it? I feed her Eukanuba puppy for giant freeds. Is all this pretty normal or should I be getting some xrays done? I had a Black Lab with hip dispacia for 13 years and don't want to go through this again. Sasha is the sweetest breed I think I've ever known.

2. Rowan

Rowan New Member

Hi ,
    I will be interested to here the replys you recive on this one as my 6 month old pup has a limp that comes and goes on his front left leg,we went to the beach last week and an overexcited Newfoundand jumped on him and ever since he has been limping,that was 6 days ago! he doesn't seem in pain and I can manipulate his leg witout causing any discomfort,I am also hoping this is growing pains.
    Also Welcome and hope your Sasha gets well soon please keep us updated on her progress.:)

3. bernermom

bernermom Administrator Staff Member